29TH November 7.30am.

My alarm goes off. Fuzzy from the wine the night before, I burrow deeper into my cocoon of blankets and try to think whether it’s a week day and if I have to get up for school. (FYI, I don’t drink on school nights. Thought I’d better clear that one up).Then I realise – it’s Comic Con day! Suddenly enthused, I’m up, showered and dressed within half an hour.

I have loved Wales Comic Con since my first visit in 2013. This event has something to offer for everyone and we always consider ourselves so lucky that we have something like this so close to home. The entry queue is always enormous – a testimony to just how popular it is – but, weather permitting, the queue is one of the best parts. The buzz as the people begin to arrive is amazing and it’s great to see so many people putting in so much effort to cosplay. This is an event that people really care about. Each year we comment on what a lovely atmosphere the whole event has. There’s never any trouble, everyone is friendly and there to have a good time. People chat to each other in the queue as if they go back years. It’s a refreshing change and a great opportunity to meet some amazing people as well as try to spot Doughnut Guy (selling…not ‘dressed as’) as he mixes with the crowd, selling refreshments and cracking jokes. (OK. This might not be for everyone but it has become a bit of a tradition for us. Doughnut Guy is becoming just as much of a legend as the folks signing autographs….)

Once you’re inside the Con, that’s when things get even more exciting. The main hall is geek-central (doesn’t that sound like the best place?) with stalls and stars galore. The stalls this year were fantastic, as wi12313851_10156337727425381_3106644287043449912_nth every year, offering everything from homemade geeky trinkets (check out my Fourth Doctor Dragon courtesy of Goblin Dreams) to the most fantastic (and under-priced) fudge I’ve had in a long time.  If you’re after something quirky and interesting then this is the place to find it. There are also tons of comics, books, prints and memorabilia to buy – it’s dangerous time to have it so close to Christmas!

Now, I’m a Torchwood fan and the past few WCC’s have given me the chance to talk to (A.K.A., stand awkwardly in front of person whilst staring at the floor and muttering ‘hello’ like some sort of lunatic) the cast. Eve Myles, Naoko Mori and Gareth David Lloyd have all had the pleasure of seeing my most star-struck facial expression. (There was also an embarrassing incident with Shane Richie which I can never repeat. Ever.) Each one of them has been absolutely lovely and completely down to earth. I’m so used to seeing Gareth (first name terms there) now that he was stood right next to me yesterday and I didn’t turn into a gawping, stuttering mess. The teenage-me would never have thought I’d be so calm about standing next to Ianto Jones. Further proof that Comic Con is amazing.

Finally there’s the Q&A sessions. In the past we’ve only visited the Torchwood Q&A which never fails to be totally hilarious as well as totally X-rated. Yesterday was no exception with Gareth, Naoko and Kai Owen answering questions on everything from the best kisser to Ianto’s shrine. We also got chance to see the first WCC Doctor Who panel featuring Sylvester McCoy, Colin Baker and Terry Molloy. Watching them discuss google glass was like watching your grandads discuss technology and it was interesting to hear their thoughts on the new series (12 year old Doctors, CGI, Jennifer Lawrence and sonic sunglasses featuring heavily).

In recent years, WCC has become a bi-annual event, which is bloody brilliant as it means we don’t have to wait as long until the next one. I would recommend this event to anyone. It’s a fun-filled day run by people who genuinely care about your experience and, again, it’s incredible that we have something like this in Wrexham.

5.30pm

As the kettle boils, I look out of the window and spot a bunch of cosplayers heading from the direction of the Uni. They are huddled together against the rain but still have excited grins across their faces. The weather hasn’t ruined their fun. I admire my new dragon which is perched on the top of my bookcase. He’s looking pretty cool. As I settle down with a mug of tea, I look forward to April, when I can buy him some little friends.

